RN to MSN Programs in Kansas

Find Online Master of Nursing Programs in Kansas

There are 7 Master of Science in Nursing Programs in Kansas in our online directory, with 6 programs being CCNE accredited, and zero programs being ACEN accredited. 86% of the Masters of Science in Nursing (MSN) programs are CCNE accredited.

The Kansas Nursing Board has approved eight schools for graduate study. Kansas Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) licensure laws require that Nurse Practitioner programs also be accredited on a national level.

Five of the state-approved schools are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE)) and one is accredited by The Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN).

School Level Program Admissions

Campbellsville University

Master Online MSN Family Nurse Practitioner Website

George Mason University

Master MSN-FNP Website

Benedictine University

Master Master of Science in Nursing Website

Fairleigh Dickinson University

Master MSN - Family Nurse Practitioner Website

Saint Xavier University

Master Master of Science in Nursing Website

Typical Curriculum for a Master's in Nursing

A full-time student can typically complete a Master of Science in Nursing degree in 2 years, though most schools offer a part-time option. Nursing programs generally require students to complete a core curriculum before delving into the nursing specialty of their choice.

This core curriculum tends to cover topics relating to research methods, foundational theories of nursing roles (including ethical and legal considerations), nursing informatics, healthcare policy, pharmacology, epidemiology, and pathophysiology.

Following these initial semesters of coursework, students will learn advanced material relevant to the track of their choice. The latter part of a Master's in Nursing will likely integrate practical clinical experience with classroom study, allowing students to both learn from and apply their skills to real-life situations.

Nursing Licensure in Kansas

After completing their Master’s study, Kansas nurses can apply for and obtain an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) license from the State Board to practice in Kansas; APRN licenses from other states will not be accepted. Certification in a specialty from a national certifying body is NOT required of all APRNs, though there may be concentration-specific requirements.

Nurse Anesthetists, for example, must obtain national certification from the National Board of Certification and Re-certification for Nurse Anesthetists (NBCRNA). APRNs of other specialties may choose to obtain certification from their relevant institution, such as the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP), the American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB), the American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN), or the National Certification Corporation (NCC).

For APRN license renewal, Kansas stipulates a continuing education requirement of 30 clinical contact hours within the relevant specialty to be completed within the most recent licensing period (2 years). Kansas is one of 32 states currently enrolled in the Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC), which allows nurses in NLC states to practice in other NLC states without obtaining additional licensure at the RN level.

All Accredited Schools with MSN Degrees in Kansas

Fort Hays State University
  • MSN in Nurse Administrators (NA)
  • Fort Hays State offers nurses a Nursing Administrator program for those who desire a role as clinical systems administrators. The program is accredited and can be completed online.
Grantham University
  • RN to MSN
  • Grantham University is a college based out of Kansas that offers a variety of different programs all online. They have several different nursing programs that include an RN to MSN Bridge Program option for those looking to earn their MSN degree.
  • MSN Nursing Management & Organizational Leadership - School of Nursing
  • The Nursing Management & Organizational Leadership program at Grantham University graduates nurses who are skilled in fulfilling leadership and executive roles within the health care system. The program is accredited.
MidAmerica Nazarene University
  • Master of Science in Nursing (MSN)
  • Mid America Nazarene's Nursing program offers students the skills they need to function in health care delivery, management and education. The program is accredited by the CCNE and offers concentrations in Nursing Healthcare Administration, Nursing Education, Healthcare Quality Management, and Public Health.
Pittsburg State University
  • Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) 
  • Pittsburg State University offers a MSN program, which prepares registered nurses to function and excel in various advanced nursing roles.
University of Kansas
  • Master of Science in Nursing
  • The Master of Science degree program at the KU School of Nursing prepares nurses with the knowledge and skills to meet the challenges of the health care system. The program offers specialties Clinical Research Management, Nursing Informatics, Organizational Leadership, and Public Health Nursing.
Washburn University
  • Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) - Clinical Nurse Leader
  • The Clinical Nurse Leader program at the Washburn teaches advanced-practice nursing knowledge to manage patient-centered primary care and health and illness of patients of all ages. The program is accredited by the CCNE and completed online.
Wichita State University
  • Master of Science in Nursing - School of Nursing
  • The MSN program at Wichita State University prepares nurses with the knowledge and skills to meet the challenges of the health care system. The program offers concentrations in Nursing Education, Nursing Leadership and Administration.

MSN Program Specialties

MSN Programs by State